Riceboy Sleeps world premiere

Monday, November 15th, 2010

Tonight in New York City, the first live performance of ‘Riceboy Sleeps’ by Jónsi & Alex takes place. The performance is part of ‘White Light‘ series being held by Lincoln Centre.

For ‘Riceboy Sleeps’, the programme is as follows:

Transcription, orchestration, and choral arrangement by David Handler
Selections from Riceboy Sleeps (2006/10) (world premiere)
– Sleeping Giant
– Indian Summer
– Happiness
– Daníell in the Sea
– Atlas Song
– Boy 1904
Performed by: Jónsi & Alex, Latvian National Choir, Wordless Music Orchestra, Milarsky

Also performed will be two pieces from Kjartan Sveinsson (from Sigur Rós).

The event is sold out but the audio of the concert will be streaming live on the wqxr.org website and will be available on demand after the event. (view here for the starting time of the event in your time zone)

Here is a note from the management on how the run up to the event has been:

First rehearsal with choir and orchestra in St Paul the Apostle late last night. lots of teething problems. Sounds completely different when you take it out of a tiny rehearsal room. Not aided by fact that, being church, everything has to be broken down for mass now and again. I guess if they weren’t stressed they wouldn’t be human. Got a feeling it’s going to come together today. it’d better!

and now for some pictures:


choir parts